Fuck You, Steve Gutenberg

Ya know, I get that this new Gutenberg editor is suppose to be the hottest thing since sliced bread. It lets you build a mindblowing website experience for people. It’s so amazing, common peasants like myself cannot even begin to wrap our heads around it.

Nor do I want to. I just want to be able to write blog posts. I’m kinda done with the whole thing where the phrase mindblowing is part of my lexicon. Nor do I have time to learn how to use an entirely new editor, that makes no sense to begin with.

So, still using the classic block editor. Except, there’s a problem. When I put an image, or a gif up, and caption it, it looks like this:

Steve guttenberg GIF on GIFER - by Tygokora
Fucking bastard

You see what the caption did there, right? Yeah. That’s not good.

So, I go look for how to fix it. Everything says go to my CSS options. So I do. Except I can’t, because that’s for paying users only. In other words, WordPress broke their shit, and wants me to give them money so I can fix the shit they broke.

Now, I tried the embed option, and that didn’t work. I tried using their gif function, but that is painfully limited. I tried everything I could find, including trying to fix it in HTML. Nothing works.

Oh, but I could update my theme, and that would fix it! Except I like the theme I have, and somehow, I suspect that the only themes that will actually fix it are the ones that you have to pay for. Funny that. I could be wrong, but it honestly wouldn’t surprise me.

Here’s the thing. I’m not super tech savvy on this Guttertrash editor crap, but the solution is actually really obvious. When you add a caption, there’s a little drop down menu that lets you set it to bold, or italics.

How about you guys add an alignment to that. Problem solved.

I’m sure that’s too hard for the super genius programmers who broke this crap in the first place with their rush to have this dumpster fire of an editor.

The worst part is that I can see how this thing would be awesome and useful. If it worked right, and they weren’t trying to squeeze money out of people.

So, for now, no more captions on my images. I don’t have the time or patience to fuck with this crap.

Fuck you, Steve Gutenberg.


2 thoughts on “Fuck You, Steve Gutenberg

Leave a comment