Great Moments In Anime: Love Is A Many Shojo Thing

Yeah, I really do love this show. I can’t help it. I’m a romantic at heart. Somewhere. Deep down. Under many layers of cynicism. Many, many, so many layers.

Still, I admit that when My Love Story defines rom com conventions, and had the two leads confess to each other after only two episodes, I had a big smile on my face. Mostly because it was a really sweet scene, but also because Suna, awesome human being that he is, really, truly, had Takeo’s back in that moment.

Then he stuck some headphones in, ignored that this was happening in his bedroom, and let them have their moment. Cause Suna is awesome.

More importantly this is the sort of thing a really good romantic comedy needs to do more often. Messing around and drawing out the eventual confession can be fun, but it’s become the standard. The idea of a happily ever after is sweet, but not overly realistic.

I’ve been with the same person for almost 23 years now. Trust me, it’s work. Any relationship is work. Which is where My Love Story really draws its charm. It focuses on the fact that there is work involved in being a couple.

It all starts, however, with just admitting you like each other, in that special way. Takeo, being Takeo, assumes that no girl could ever really like him, so Suna has to step in, and make sure the two at least get their relationship off the ground. Which is what gives us this really beautiful, sweet, touching scene.

As a side note, after deciding I wanted to do My Love Story this month, I actually had a hard time picking a scene. There’s so damn many amazing scenes in the this show, that really do qualify as being called great. Settling on one was a real effort.

Still, for every amazing scene this show has, this one is still the best. Hearts, flowers, roses, and sappy music never felt so right.

One thought on “Great Moments In Anime: Love Is A Many Shojo Thing

Leave a Reply

