Critical Role: Let It Happen

Boy, oh boy, do I have something for you guys this week.

Okay, so, first off, I know most of my followers are here for the anime. That’s a big part of my life, and a major hobby of mine, but not something I could ever build an entire blog around. I’m just too eccentric, or erratic, to ever be able to focus on just one thing like that.

Which is why I also talk about D&D a lot, especially Critical Role. Most of what I do at this blog is just talk about stuff I love, and D&D is also a major hobby of mine. Critical Role is where anime and D&D intersect in a weird, strange way, so hopefully, those of you who are here mainly for the anime still at least get a kick out of the Critical Role stuff.

If you didn’t before, hopefully you will after this.

I’ve talked a bit before about the mad improve skills of Sam Riegel, but damn, even I never suspected how capable he was. Not just in terms of talent, but in terms of shamelessness. I mean, really. This guy has no shame at all. It’s kind of scary.

So, the set up you need here is that Vax and Grog, or rather Liam O’Brien and Travis Willingham, have decided to prank Scanlan, Sam’s Gnome Bard. Scanlan has been a bit of a dick in the past, and while all has been forgiven, they still want to get him, so it is decided that they shall slip a little love potion into his drink, and just see what happens.

That was their first mistake. They unleashed the Riegel.

All of this, spread over three videos, is utterly hilarious, but nothing is funnier than watching Matt Mercer, our friendly neighborhood DM, realize just what has been set in motion. His utter dismay, slow acceptance, and just general disbelief that these people are not just his friends, but his best friends, is uproarious. As his is pain that all of this is happening at their long planned live show, at Gencon, in front of a crowd of, from what I understand, 2,400 people. His final acceptance of it, though, is the best part.

Just keep one eye on Matt, in the upper left corner. His reactions are priceless.

Really, this is one of the funniest things I have ever seen in my entire life. It is beautiful, unscripted, unplanned, and totally improved.

That makes it really beautiful, ya know?

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

