The Big One Double Oh

So, the other day, I passed 100 followers.

Image result for barakamon gif
What is even happening?

Now, I don’t really know much about WordPress etiquette or anything, but apparently, it is considered polite to say something to your followers when you hit a big milestone, so this extra special Saturday post is just for that.

First thing I want to say is that I probably wouldn’t have noticed had it not been for the 100th follower, Mon, dropping a comment to let me know. Thank you again for that.

I don’t want it to sound as if I’m to cool to keep up, or something. Truth is, I’ve had the flu for the past week, and spent most of it only barely able to make coherent words come from my speaking hole. I’m feeling much better at this point, but yeah, I was kind of a mess all week, so it would have passed right by me and I wouldn’t have noticed it.

Side note, if the new chapter of Warsong doesn’t appear next Wednesday, that’s also why. I was too sick to work on it, and am now scrambling to get it finished.

That said, I don’t really pay a lot of attention to the numbers side of things. I don’t ignore it, because I am a writer, and constantly desperate for any kind of affirmation that my life has meaning and depth beyond my dog licking my face when I give her food. For that same reason, I try not to check the numbers every day, because I’m an adult dammit, and I am totally okay with not checking the numbers every day. For real. Totally okay not doing it.

Once a week is my limit. Cause I’m not completely desperate. Just mostly.

Image result for barakamon gif
Mostly an adult, too.

For those who don’t know, or just forgot, this whole blogging thing started when my first novel was accepted for publication. The publisher, Booktrope, encouraged me to have an active blog so my soon to be arriving hordes of fans would be able to keep up with me, my thoughts, and my doings.

Booktrope then went out of business, so I’m thinking they never did get attracting hordes of fans down to a science. Still, I was left with a blog I had no idea what to do with, which Dragon Moon Press, the publisher that picked me up in the aftermath, seemed to think was also a good tool.

How good this blog is at getting people to buy my book, I don’t think either I or they can say, but apparently, as a blogger, I’m gaining some kind of popularity, so at this point I’m just gonna do what I always do when my life gets weird. I’m gonna roll with it.

My life frequently gets weird. I have a lot of practice at rolling.

Oh, and hey, while we’re on the subject, links to my novel are right over there, on the right side of the page. Just… yeah… no… stop scrolling… you passed them… oh, okay then.

Image result for barakamon gif
Fair warning…

Point being, when I started this blog, I didn’t really have any idea what I was going to do with it. As it has changed and evolved, its become an incredibly important part of my life, not so much for the content I post, but the conversations I get to have, the people I’ve met because of it, and the ever growing circle of new friends I’ve gained. People who have made my life more fulfilling, as I’ve dealt with some of the most difficult things I’ve ever had to face.

It isn’t about my novel, or even me as a writer anymore. Or about anime, or D&D. It’s become my support network as my girlfriend continues to battle cancer, and despite the many setbacks, has actually made a small breakthrough recently. Nothing game changing, but good all the same.

Briefly, she is able to get around in a wheelchair again, without help. It’s small, but it is good, because it means physically, she’s getting stronger. Nobody is calling it hopeful, but everyone is pretty excited about it, so I’m excited about it.

Through all of this, this blog has been what I’ve focused on to keep myself moving, and sane. As it has grown, and I’ve met more people, they have helped me smile and laugh when all I wanted to do was curl in a ball and cry. It really has become so incredibly important to me.

I can’t say that it would be, without all of you, either. You are what make this matter to me. You are what make this matter, period. Without each of you, this would just be some guy, saying random things into the ether. You encourage me to rethink my views, to expand my thoughts and opinions, to go deeper into all manner of shows and ideas than I ever would have left on my own.

So, yeah, this is all for you, and about you. I’m just the guy trying to keep it organized and active. The rest, that’s you.

And you know what? You are pretty damn awesome. Thanks for letting me be a part of that. I really do appreciate it, more than I can say.

Image result for barakamon gif
Even if it is a bit… odd here.
14 thoughts on “The Big One Double Oh

  1. I have yet to read a couple of your posts from earlier this week, and I always want to take my time for those, seeing the amount of work you put in them. Still though, I could not wait to comment on this one already. First off: congratulations : 100 followers is a truly epic achievement indeed. And trust me when I say it, your count will go up even higher, and it will not be much longer until you have double digits again. And that is all about the quality content you put into these posts. Yes, your posts can sometimes be very long to read, but that is what I enjoy about them. It are posts that truly come from your heart, and it really shows. That’s why I sometimes put them off in weeks where I have less time, just because I want to take my time to read them.
    Another reason your blog is truly awesome is just simply for who you yourself are as a person: and that is one seriously awesome dude, and someone I am proud to call a friend. I can only imagine the amount of pain you and your girlfriend are sometimes going through, and I really hope with all me heart that everything in the end will turn out for the better. You certainly deserve to have many more happy years together.
    All I can say is, keep writing the fun posts you are writing, and never change as a person. But I guess that is already a proven fact. Enjoy this milestone, and here’s to many more to come 🍾

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you, so very much. I truly do feel blessed to have met some wonderful people thanks to this, and even more so to have made a friend like you.

      Really, Michael, you have been a tremendous bright spot in my world. I am beyond grateful to know you exist in this world, and to call you my friend.

      Thank you, for being you.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Congratulations! It’s growing like a vine!

    I don’t actually remember when I found your blog but I was a silent stalker for a while before I found the nerve to comment on a post and hey, you’re a pretty cool guy. Though that’s kinda obvious in the posts themselves…

    Anyway, love your blog, your writing style and interacting with you. Here’s to much more of that.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Or a weed. Or just weed in general.

      Thank you, I do try to be a decent person, so it’s always gratifying to hear that I’ve managed it. πŸ™‚

      More importantly, I’m glad to ahve met you, and gotten to read your blog, as well. I’ve really enjoyed it, and while I don’t comment as often as I could, I always love seeing a new post from you show up in my email.

      I look forward to more, as well. πŸ˜€

      Liked by 1 person

  3. A big congratulations on 100 followers! I hit it myself a little while back but I guess I don’t know proper WordPress etiquette either. It sure feels good to see that you’ve connected to so many people though, so enjoy it!

    I can’t agree more that interacting with others is the best part of blogging here. Getting to know you through your writing has been a great experience for me, and I feel excited when I see a new post from you (even if I don’t get the chance to read them all in a timely manner), because your writing is just so engaging to read and your content always manages to catch my interest, even when I’m not familiar with the topic.

    On top of all that, I feel like it’s so easy to strike up a conversation with you on just about anything. What was our first one? The post election? I was in quite a mood back then. We’ve had some lengthy talks since, but it’s never been anything but enjoyable for me.

    Keep up the great work!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. First off, let me thank you for all the kind words. Well, thank you seems a bit underwhelming for how I actually feel, but I don’t think there’s a word that really captures the desire to sob as I clutch at your feet.

      Yes, writers really are like needy puppies. So needy.

      Joking aside, it does mean a lot to me. Thank you, so much.

      Honestly, I can’t quite recall our first conversation. I know we really talked a lot about SAO when I started bringing it up, but it seems like we’ve just always been talking. That’s kinda how our conversations feel to me, like something that was always there, you know? Like, I can’t remember what it was like to not be having conversations with you.

      Makes me happy when I meet somebody that makes me feel that way, too. So, thanks again for that. It’s always enjoyable for me, because you challenge me to rethink things, and that is not something I get a lot.

      Definitely one of my favorite people to talk to, you are.

      Whoa. I went full Yoda there. Weird.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Happen to the best of us, Yoda can.

        What you said there had me stunned silent for the entire day. Well, also I haven’t been able to get in front of a computer since I saw your comment until now, but that’s besides the point.

        But really, what you said goes fundamentally against what I think about myself. I’m a horrible conversationalist (ask my wife), but when I find someone as easy to talk to as you are, I open right up. Anything you see in how natural this feels is all because of you, my friend.

        Suffice it to say you’re everything I hoped for when I came to WordPress looking for friends.

        Liked by 1 person

        1. Don’t give me too much credit. I am also a horrible conversationalist. I’m not naturally at ease with people, and tend to hide behind sarcasm.

          Maybe we’re just enough alike, we found it easy. Whatever the reason, I’m glad. More friends like you is just what I need, so yeah, you’re just what I need in this world.

          Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you, and let’s hope so! Well, by hope, I mean I’m going to continue doing what I’m doing, and only looking at the counter every once in a while. It seems to be working, so no sense messing with what ain’t broken.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

