Welcome To My World

First thing I want to say here is that I’m not a Christmas person. It isn’t a holiday I get excited about, and in general, I try to duck my head and let it pass me by. Not that I’m a grinch or anything, it just comes with a lot of bad memories from my childhood, and ignoring it seems cheaper than therapy.

This year, however, seems determined to give me a reason to be happy about the season. Probably just the stupid universe trying to force me to be a conformist or some crap. Up yours, universe!

My refusal to bend to the will of the universe aside, I am happy today, because my long sought after dream of having a novel published has become a reality. Not self published, mind you, but through an actual publishing company.

Sure, it came with a lot of difficulties, and more than a few moments where I thought it would never come to pass, but it has, and today I find that my novel is already listed at Amazon. So, fine universe, you win this round. I’m smiling on Christmas Day.

And not just because of the Doctor Who Christmas Special, so double points to you, universe.

The universe is such a dick about things.

Now, before I go handing out links and in general politely asking you, my frequent readers, to read more of my writing, and possibly leave a review if it so pleases you, there’s something else I want to talk about. Something more in keeping with the theme of the season.

As some of you probably have noticed by now, I like cats. At odd intervals, I even share cute or funny cat videos. In fact, my very first published piece was a short story titled “My Pretty Kitty”, about a fearsome vampire looking for his lost cat. I’ve always had a cat in my life, and over the last twenty years, have actively volunteered as a halfway house for abused cats. It’s kind of like being a foster home, but I take in cats that are aggressive, shy, or have other problems and help them adjust to being treated with kindness and affection, before moving them on to a permanent home. It’s oddly rewarding work, and a part of my life I’m proud of.

However, I can only help domestic cats, and only those local to me. There is a larger problem with abused big cats, such as lions, tigers and the like. For these cats, there is an organization that helps them, called Wildcat Sanctuary. They take in big cats from all over, and provide them with a safe place to live, and all too often, recover from the bad situations they were put in.

The reason I bring this up is because Wildcat Sanctuary is a charity, one that is very close to my heart, and relies heavily on donations to stay in operation. Not just for food, but for medical care, their entire set up is supported by charitable donations.

This matters because they are one of the almost million charities that the Amazon Smile Program helps, by making a small donation based on the purchase made by Amazon customers, at no extra cost to customers. Which is a long winded way of saying you can make a donation without having to spend any extra money.

So, knowing that, if you are planning to pick up either a paperback or Kindle copy of my novel, please consider doing so through the Amazon Smile Program, and selecting Wildcat Sanctuary as your charity of choice. This way, we can both help this wonderful organization in the important work they do.

In the world of War Witch, the supreme deity, Emperor of Heaven, and creator of the Middle World, is Grannax, the Divine Tiger, so it seems kind of fitting.

It’s an easy thing to do, too. Just go to the Amazon Smile page, enter Wildcat Sanctuary as your charity of choice, then search for War Witch: Rise by Cain S. Latrani. Amazon will donate a small percentage of your purchase to Wildcat Sanctuary, and in addition to getting a good book to read, you’ll help make the lives of these beautiful animals a lot more comfortable.

You can even learn more about Wildcat Sanctuary by visiting their webpage, where you can make a direct donation if you like, for those who don’t trust Amazon, don’t really want to buy my book, or want it on the Barnes & Noble Nook, where it also available.

I also want to say thanks to everyone who visits this site regularly, be it to just read, or to comment. In the ups and downs that this past year has offered me, spending time working on this blog has come to mean a great deal to me, and I’ve greatly enjoyed spending time with each and every one of you. I’m looking forward to next year, and hoping it brings many good things for us all.

By which of course I mean an announcement for a Season Two of One Punch Man.

Go here to visit the Amazon Smile Page.

After you do, you can pick up my new novel, War Witch: Rise, in paperback or on Kindle.

You can also grab it for the Nook over at Barnes & Noble. I assume it’ll be available in paperback from them, but I’m just the writer, not the publisher, so I can’t say for sure.

Have a wonderful holiday season.

One thought on “Welcome To My World

Leave a Reply

