Dungeons & Dragons, Critical Role, and the joy of Table Top Gaming

Back when I first started this blog, I made a post titled “Critical Role + Meta Humor = Fun For Me”. At the time I made it, I didn’t expect to end up having so many frequent visitors, or be talking about anime as much as I have. It was basically a one off post that I did just for my own amusement.

I also totally forgot about it after that, until I started noticing it getting a fair amount of views in my daily stats. Which is when it dawned on me that my regular visitors might not have a clue what it was even about.

So, here I am, to not only explain it, but to give it come context.

Critical Role is a Geek & Sundry Twitch series, which features a group of well known voice actors, many of whom you’ll know if you have seen some of the better English dubs of highly successful anime series, sitting around playing Dungeons & Dragons.

It is, to put it mildly, where all my various interests join forces into a Voltron like super geeky ultimate power force. One of these days, I’ll explain more fully my love of D&D, but for now, just know it’s my favorite game ever.

The series features such voice actors as Travis Willingham, who was Roy Mustang in the English Full Metal Alchemist, both original and Brotherhood, as well as his wife, Laura Bailey, who was Lust in both FMA versions as well as Tohru Honda in Fruits Basket, just to name two you guys might know best.

The Dungeon Master for the group is the legendary Matthew Mercer, most recently the voice of Levi in the English dub of Attack on Titan, and he is as much a joy to watch as the rest of the group.

Critical Role has gained a bit of fame since it began earlier this year, leading to Matt getting to DM a game with Vin Diesel, and the show has gotten to enjoy guest stars such as Wil Wheaton, Will Friedle, Mary McGlynn and Felicia Day.

It has become one of the few things I just can’t stand to miss, as this is exactly how D&D is meant to be played, with all the chaos, craziness, and improv of the players, and the DM.

To give you just a taste of how nutty things can be when playing D&D, here’s a clip of Sam Riegel, Liam O’Brien, and Taliesin Jaffe attempting to open a door, which results in a string of hysterical failures.

You catch up on all the past episodes of Critical Role over at their Geek & Sundry page, or catch all new episodes at their website.

If you’ve never played Dungeons & Dragons, or have been curious about it, go check them out. This is the best example of what makes the game so special.

Leave a Reply

