Reader Review: The Dragon Child

It shouldn’t come as any real surprise that I’m posting a review of this book. After all, I shared the cover reveal, know the author personally, and count her a friend. Naturally, I’m going to read her book and tell you guys why you should, too.

Before you go thinking I’m giving a good review for the sake of my friendship with author Sherilyn Putnam, I’m not that kind of guy. I tend to speak my mind, and generally, hope for the best. It rarely works out well, and I don’t have a lot of friends, but the ones I do have are really good friends.

Partly because they put up with me, but also because they appreciate that I’m not going to tell them what I think they want to hear. I don’t really like dealing in bullshit, you see, because I have a bad memory, and can never remember what bullshit I’ve shoveled where.

So, as much for myself as others, I prefer to just stick to saying what I really think. Good thing I was never overly invested in being popular, isn’t it?

Anyway, on to the review!

DragonChildcoverThe first thing you need to know about Sherilyn Putnam is that she doesn’t write novels, she weaves fairy tales. That is a huge compliment on my part, as I love fairy tails. They were some of the first stories that made me an avid reader, and I’ve never really gotten over that love of them.

Can’t write them to save my ass, but I do love reading them.

In The Dragon Child, Sherilyn Putnam tells the story of a young gypsy boy who one day finds a strange egg washed up on the beach. Deciding to take it back to his caravan, he soon learns that this is no ordinary egg, but that of a dragon. What lurks inside, waiting to be born, is incredibly dangerous, and could well spell doom for the family of gypsies.

Despite being ordered to destroy it, the boy instead choose to protect it, leaving his family behind. Before long, the egg hatches, producing a child he names Dane. While he is a dragon, he is a hybrid and is part human, creating a whole new set of problems for the boy who would be a dragon’s daddy.

From there, we get into spoilers, so that’s all you’re getting on the plot front.

Much of what the story touches on is the concept of family, as Dane seeks to understand who he is and where he comes from. He knows he isn’t human, despite looking similar to one, and this eventually sets him on his quest to learn the answers to the mystery of his past. Along the way, he befriends a mermaid, among other fantastic creatures.

The journey, it turns out, is what matters, as he grows closer to his various friends, learning to see them as the family he never had. There’s an old saying that blood is thicker than water, but I’ve never found that to be true, and was a big part of what made me really enjoy this book.

It’s not overly long, and with a one or two exceptions, depending on your taste, is completely safe for readers of any age. In fact, according to Sherilyn herself, this is a mid grade novel, and is written with a certain poetic prose that invokes the tales from the Brother’s Grimm and early Disney films.

There’s a gentleness to the story, as Dane explores his own emotions, desires, and the world around him, trying to find his place, and happiness despite the obstacles he faces.

Basically, it’s a good read, and one I enjoyed greatly. Do yourself a favor, and check it out.

You can pick it up at Amazon, as well as over at Barnes & Noble, in both electronic and paperback at both. I understand it’s available on iTunes as well, but as I don’t have iTunes, I’m not sure how to link to it. Just go search and you should find it.

As an added bonus, give Sherilyn Putnam a follow at Twitter and Facebook. She’s not just a good writer, she’s funny as hell.

Leave a Reply

