Series Review: SCHOOL-LIVE! (Gakkou Gurashi)

While I am working on my own series recap, this one really touches on a lot of the things that made Gakkou Gurashi such a fascinating show.

The Josei Next Door

Talk about never judging a book by its cover.

sl5-2

Expectations are funny things. I saw the cover art for this one and figured I’d make it ten minutes into the pilot; had my curiosity piqued just enough by the end-of-premiere twist to give it another week or two; continued to watch half-intrigued and half-cynical, convinced that it was always five minutes from shooting itself in the foot and leaping off a cliff… and now here I am at the end of it, writing a full review and feeling pleasantly surprised by the experience.

As I’ve said before, there’s no way to discuss this show in-depth without mentioning The Reveal that happens at the end of the first episode. If you have no clue what I’m talking about and don’t want to have it spoiled for you, then go sit through the first episode (available on Crunchyroll) and come back. Otherwise hit the jump for the happiest surprise of…

View original post 1,111 more words

Leave a Reply

