Gakkou Gurashi! A Brief Interlude

Before episode 8 airs, there’s a couple of things I wanted to touch on where this show is concerned, mostly about the ways it keeps messing with my perceptions. Which it does, in expert ways. Don’t take that as a complaint, either, because it isn’t. I actually love it when a show manages to make me second guess myself as much as this one has.

The big thing I want to touch on is the opening credits. I’ve said several times during my recaps that there was something about them, something made me feel unsettled. At first, I couldn’t put my finger on what it was, and chalked up to my imagination. Later, I thought it to just be my perception of the opening music that was causing my sense of unease. In both cases, I was wrong.

The opening credits actually have been changing, but it’s been subtle, over seven episodes now, and a lot of those changes aren’t immediately noticeable. I’ve praised the show on a number of occasions now for being masterful at the art of being subtle, but this makes me appreciate it all over again. Just how deft the writers and animators are at making me cringe internally, without even being certain why, is amazing.

Odds are, I’d still not be completely sure that before episode seven, there wasn’t anything about the opening credits, outside my perception of them that was odd, had it not been for fellow Gakkou Garashi blogger Flower over at Anime Evo sharing the video below. It’s a real eye opener in terms of just how many things have been changing, and how easy it’s been to overlook them on a week to week basis.

I have got to give it to Studio Lerche. They have turned psychological horror into a damn art form.

Gakkou Garashi is a show that thrives on the subtle psychological shifts, the things that go unsaid, and the show don’t tell rule of writing. In every way, they are redefining the zombie genre of horror, and as a writer, I feel inspired by what they are doing. Of course, as my guest post over at Sherilyn Putnam yesterday will attest, I’ve always been one to be influenced by anime, and the sophisticated way of telling stories we often see employed by them.

I’m still avoiding spoilers from the manga at this time, so we’ll see just where these little shifts in tone evident in the opening credits takes us, but once again, I feel certain that the final five episodes of what I’m hoping is just the first season will be memorable as hell.

Unlike some shows I could mention.

TWD vs GGLast of all, I’d just like to say how great it is to be a part of this fandom. I’ve become aware recently of just how many people are watching, reviewing, recapping, and talking about Gakkou Garashi, and I have to say, it’s great to be a part of a community that really gets how masterful this show is. Hats off to all of you!

Especially the person who made this. You are special, and I love you forever. Never stop being this awesome.

Leave a Reply

